The candidates for the 2023 Excellence in Sports Performance Yearly Award (ESPY Awards) were announced on the 24th (Korean time).

The nominees for the ESPY Male Athlete of the Year category were Nicola Jokic (Serbia), Aaron Judge, Patrick Mahomes (above USA), and Lionel Messi (Argentina).

These four people have accumulated outstanding achievements so that no matter who is selected as the winner, there is nothing strange.

Jokic led the Denver Nuggets of the National Basketball Association (NBA) to their first championship since the team was founded this year, and Judge of the New York Yankees hit 62 home runs in the Major League Baseball (MLB) last year, the most home runs in an American League season in 61 years. set a record

In addition, Mahomes was selected as the second Super Bowl MVP in the National스포츠토토 Football League (NFL), putting Kansas City on top, and Messi won the FIFA World Cup in Qatar last year, Argentina for the first time in 36 years. led the

Established in 1993, ESPY is a sports awards ceremony that determines the winners by adding evaluations from sports reporters, broadcasters, and sponsors, as well as fan votes.

The nominees for this year’s female athlete category included Michaela Shiffrin (skiing), Sophia Smith (soccer, ideal USA), Iga Sibiongtech (tennis, Poland), and Azar Wilson (basketball, USA).

Shohei Ohtani (baseball, Japan) and Katie Ledecky (swimming, USA) were selected as the male and female athletes of the year by ESPY last year.

Even in the nominations for the record category established in the last year, there are as many outstanding candidates as this year’s male athlete.

First, Novak Djokovic (Serbia), who won the men’s singles at the French Open tennis tournament this year, set a tie record (23) for the most singles wins in a major tournament.

In addition, LeBron James (USA) broke the NBA record for the most points (38,387 points) held by Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (USA).

In the International Ski Federation (FIS) Alpine World Cup, Shiffrin surpassed the record of 86 wins held by Ingemar Stenmark (Sweden), who also had the most wins, and ran to 88 wins.

Max Verstappen (Netherlands) of Formula One (F1) auto racing won 14 times last season, breaking Michael Schumacher and Sebastian Vettel (Germany)’s previous record of most wins (13 wins) in one season.

Winners in each category will be announced at this year’s ESPY Awards on July 13th.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *